Novak Djokovic risked disqualification during his French Open semi-final this afternoon after almost accidentally hitting a line judge with his racket.
The world number one was taking on Czech player Tomas Berdych, and saw off the number seven seed relatively easy, winning in straight sets 6-3, 7-5, 6-3.
But it cold have been very different for the Serb if it wasn’t for the quick reflexes of a very luck line judge.
After sending an unforced error into the net during the second game of the third set, Djokovic proceeded to slam his racket into the clay, only for it to bounce wildly into the air and spin behind him at speed:
Angry @DjokerNole throw his racquet and almost hit a line judge
Djokovic joga a raquete, quase acerta juiz de linha pic.twitter.com/S4RS4EJ0jn
— Break Point Brasil (@BreakPointBR) June 2, 2016
It’s difficult to tell from that angle, but at the time it was clear the line judge was forced to move quickly to avoid contact, that would have almost certainly resulted in the match being awarded to Berdych.
After the victory, Djokovic was still in no mood at all to discuss the incident, and gave inquisitive short shrift.
Here's what Novak Djokovic had to say about 'that' racquet throw ?? pic.twitter.com/KkFhlxNKVW
— BBC Tennis (@bbctennis) June 2, 2016
He’ll now play either Andy Murray or Stan Wawrinka in Sunday’s final.
What do you make of the incident?