Following a typically frantic start between the two sides, Rangers enjoyed a spell of pressure in and around the Celtic penalty area, before a loose ball was contested just inside the box between McKay and Hoops defender Jozo Simunovic.
After the Croatian’s tackle, Thomson seemed to point to the spot an award the penalty, but after a moment it became clear he’d actually given the foul to Celtic, and booked McKay for simulation:
— BT Sport Football (@btsportfootball) October 23, 2016
What do you make of the incident?
Does the referee absolutely have to go one way or the other? Isn’t it possible for the challenge to simply be a clean tackle that wins the ball but also brings the attacker down? Does it look like McKay is really seeking an advantage?