Football

Video: Did Arsenal Deserve the Penalty That Led to Winner Against Burnley?

Video: Did Arsenal Deserve the Penalty That Led to Winner Against Burnley?

Arsenal got a stoppage time penalty that Alexis Sanchez converted to give them a win over Burnley this afternoon – but did they deserve it?

The Gunners were locked at 0-0 at Turf Moor going into the final minute of two added on at the end of normal time.

But they got a big boost when referee Lee Mason pointed to the spot after James Tarkowski appeared to push Aaron Ramsey in the box.

It looked like a difficult call in real time and, to be honest, it gets no easier with the replays either:

As you can see, Tarkowski’s hands definitely touch Ramsey, but is the contact enough for the Welshman to go over? We’re not so sure.

Regardless, Mason thought it was a penalty and Sanchez made no mistake with his strike from the spot to give the Gunners a big win on the road.

With the victory, Arsene Wenger’s men move up to fourth in the Premier League table, nine points off Manchester City at the top.

More in Football

Video: Steven Gerrard Is Not Having Any Questions About Alfredo Morelos

Jonny BoyleAugust 1, 2020

Two Aberdeen Fans Come Up With Creative Way to Watch Rangers Game in Person

Jonny BoyleAugust 1, 2020

Why Frank Lampard Deserves Huge Credit if Chelsea Grab Champions League Spot

Jonny BoyleJuly 16, 2020

How Successful Has the Return of the Bundesliga Been?

Jonny BoyleJune 17, 2020

Why Bayern Munich May Be One More Tough Test Away From the Bundesliga Title

Jonny BoyleJune 3, 2020

Are Hakim Ziyech’s Comments About the 2018-19 Champions League Final Fair?

Jonny BoyleJune 2, 2020

EFL League One Playoff Decision Puts Paul Lambert’s Ipswich Position at Risk

Jonny BoyleJune 2, 2020

Fun Things That Sports Fans Can Do At Home During The Coronavirus Lockdown

Jonny BoyleMay 18, 2020

Bookmakers Will Be Watching Closely as Footballing Authorities Decided Season Outcome

Daniel CawApril 10, 2020