Arsenal got a stoppage time penalty that Alexis Sanchez converted to give them a win over Burnley this afternoon – but did they deserve it?
The Gunners were locked at 0-0 at Turf Moor going into the final minute of two added on at the end of normal time.
But they got a big boost when referee Lee Mason pointed to the spot after James Tarkowski appeared to push Aaron Ramsey in the box.
It looked like a difficult call in real time and, to be honest, it gets no easier with the replays either:
As you can see, Tarkowski’s hands definitely touch Ramsey, but is the contact enough for the Welshman to go over? We’re not so sure.
Regardless, Mason thought it was a penalty and Sanchez made no mistake with his strike from the spot to give the Gunners a big win on the road.
With the victory, Arsene Wenger’s men move up to fourth in the Premier League table, nine points off Manchester City at the top.