Spain are safely through to the last-16 of the World Cup despite a hectic final group match against Morocco – but defender Gerard Pique should probably be facing a ban after somehow escaping punishment for a reckless two-footed challenge.
The VAR panel played a huge part in proceedings in the 2-2 draw in Kaliningrad, with the Spanish awarded a dramatic last-gasp equaliser that had previously been ruled-out for offside, meaning they finish the section top of the group, and will now face hosts Russia in the last-16.
And Barcelona ace Pique will be in the team for the first knockout round after his ridiculous tackle was somehow missed by officials.
There was minimal contact with the opposing player, and he definitely gets some of the ball, but there’s no question this was very much a potential red card offence from Pique:
— World Cup Goals (@FIFAWCGoals) June 25, 2018
Both Morocco and Iran have now been eliminated from the competition but you have to wonder what might have been had Pique been dismissed with the scores at 0-0.
What do you make of the tackle?