The Hoops travelled to Pittodrie knowing they’d be in for a tough game against the in-form Dons, and it looked like the Premiership champions would be dropping points after referee Willie Collum awarded the spot-kick on 83 minutes.
Aberdeen's second penalty award this afternoon 😳 pic.twitter.com/cetwcf294S
— talkingbaws.com (@talkingbaws) December 26, 2018
Sam Cosgrove took it and converted to make it 2-2, but replays showed Shinnie might’ve made the most of any contact from Mikael Lustig.
As you can probably imagine, the Bhoys boss wasn’t best pleased with the award, and made his feelings perfectly clear when speaking to the media after the full-time whistle:
In the end, Celtic went on to score twice more, and secure a 4-3 win in a topsy-turvy contest, and Rangers’ dropped points at home to Hibs further strengthened Rodgers’ grip on the title.
But could Shinnie’s ‘dive’ have cost Celtic dearly? And do you think he should be punished for going to ground too easily?