Roma claim Willie Collum apologised for the controversial decision to award Borussia Monchengladbach a penalty in their game tonight.
With the Roman hosts leading 1-0 going into the final minutes of the Europa League group game, the Scottish referee awarded a penalty to the visitors for what he perceived to be a handball from Chris Smalling.
Replays clearly showed that the ball hit Smalling’s face rather than his hand.
But there is no VAR in Europa League football – so Lars Stindl stepped up to score and grab a point for the Germans.
As expected, Collum’s decision has been getting plenty of attention across European football tonight.
And now Roma have claimed he’s admitted his mistake to their coaching staff:
Roma still sit top of their group after three games – one point above Istanbul Basaksehir in second.
Unfortunately for them, this decision from Collum is something they’re going to have to live with. Even if they did get an apology.